January 3, 1959 - President Dwight D. Eisenhower signs the Alaska Proclamation admitting Alaska as the 49th state. Front Row L to R: Vice President Richard Nixon; Dwight D. Eisenhower; House Speaker Sam Rayburn. Back Row L to R: Rep.-Elect Ralph Rivers; Sen.-Elect Ernest Gruening; Senator- Elect E. L. Bartlett; Secretary of the Interior Fred A. Seaton; Wayne Hendrickson; and David W. Kendall, Special Counsel to the President.